Finals Day: Report + Photos

Many thanks to all who took part in the QPTC Club Championship 2019 including both players and supporters.

Terry Nevin writes: We had a successful Finals Day with excellent tennis, no rain, plenty of spectators, food brought to share, food provided by the club and a bar to keep us refreshed.

Thank you to those who ensured a constant supply of teas and coffees as well as doing the washing up. There are many others to thank including the four umpires Charlie Baines, Matthew Cunningham, Mark Cull and Jane Francis, Phil Melling for organising the umpire chairs, Jack Bond for playing an exhibition match.

2019 Finals Day photo gallery

Bottles of wine were presented to the umpires, team captains, club officers, Jack Bond and Phil Melling. Trophies to keep were presented to the people who won most matches in each team during the parks League. Many Congratulations to the finalists :

Ladies Singles: Isabel Roff-Silvester 6-3, 6-2 (Runner up Leah Brunner)
Mens Singles: Sam Waller-Carr 6-4, 7-5 (Runner up Doug Queree)
Ladies Doubles: Max Lunderstedt & Lynn-Ora Knott 7-6, 7-6
(Runners up Annika Kinnunen & Susan Cheung)
Mens Doubles: Sam Waller-Carr & Paul Van Reyk 6-1, 6-2
(Runners up Alan Sanchez & Eddie Crowther)
Mixed Doubles: Sean Leah and Leah Brunner (w-o)

Mixed Doubles Exhibition match Jack Bond and Pauline 7-5 6-0
(runners up Sean Mill & Leah Brunner)

Well done to Leah Brunner, Bruno Girardeau and Alan Sanchez who were voted most improved female, most improved male and Brenda Jewel Trophy respectively.

See below for the votes. What is particularly interesting are the comments:

See here

Most improved Female

Leah Brunner 9
Izzie Roffe-Silvester 4
Elena Guisto 1
Ellie Blackshaw 1

Most improved Male

Bruno 4
Elwish 3
Scott Barfield 2
Domenico 1
Doug Queree 1
Mark Stoddard 1
Nick Clarke 1
Paul Van Reyk 1
Richard File 1
Sam Waller-Carr 1
Sean Mill 1
Steven Wright 1

Brenda Jewell Award

Alan Sanchez 5
Mel Bowden 4
Terry Nevin 3
Eddie Crowther 2
Mark Cull 2
Pauline 2
Committee 1
Denise Tyler 1
Sam Waller-Carr 1

Finally thank you to Pauline who did all the shopping and lots more behind the scene, to Alan who is looking after getting the trophies engraved and to Charlie Brown who will be running the Club Championship next year.

Best Wishes